Hely, Benjamin (?–1699): Six Sonatas

Hely, Benjamin (?–1699): Six Sonatas

18,80 EUR


excl. shipping costs

weight: 0,28 KG

Product.Nr.: G317

for 2 violas da gamba & b. c., edited by Leonore and Günter von Zadow. Benjamin Hely was a viola da gamba player, who was active until his death in 1699. He is known through his suites in “The Compleat Violist”, a viola da gamba method that was printed in London in 1699. Hely’s Six Sonatas for two violas da gamba and basso continuo, which also can be played by 3 viols alone, display compositional similarities to Purcell’s trio sonatas. Hely wrote idiomatically for the viola da gamba, so that with 3 bass viols a pleasant, rich, and harmonious sound results, such as that we know, for example, from the sonatas of Michael Nicolai. Edition Güntersberg

Sonatas I–III

Also available:
Sonatas IV–VI • G318

First page of music download PDF

file file size
G317-Noten.pdf G317-Noten.pdf 0.22 MB

In order to optimize our website for you and to be able to continuously improve it, we use cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies.

Further information about cookies from our domain can be found in our Cookie Policy