Wagner, Richard (1813–1883): Vorspiel zu Tristan und Isolde - Score

Product no.: EW918

21,80 EUR

  • weight 0,28 kg

product description

Prelude to Tristan and Isolde arranged for 23 solo strings by Sebastian Gürtler. Inspired by Richard Strauss’s Metamorphoses, Sebastian Gürtler (Hugo Wolf Quartet, Amarcord Vienna) created three brilliant arrangements for string sextet, string orchestra, and 23 solo strings. Gidon Kremer wrote in his foreword: “Sebastian Gürtler has done the impossible: with great love and finesse, he has transformed music that every musician and music lover has in their ear into a splendid ‘feast of sound.’ It is a brilliant piece of chamber music! To explore Wagner’s score as colorful chamber music is a true voyage of discovery into a wonderland so well known to all of us.”

• parts rental material


Preview on YouTube: „string orchestra version played by Kremerata Baltica“


“For well-trained string sextets, this version is a challenging and rewarding endeavor.” das orchester, 09/2014