Morel, Jacques:1. Livre de Pieces de Violle (Paris 1709) – Suites 3–4

Product no.: G322

21,80 EUR

  • weight 0,28 kg

product description

4 Suites for viola da gamba & b. c., edited by Leonore and Günter von Zadow with a continuo realisation by Dankwart von Zadow. Jacques Morel, the French composer and student of Marin Marais, is mainly known for his exquisite chaconne for flute, viol and continuo (G038). His four splendid suites for viola da gamba however are undeservedly less known, though they number among the pearls of French compositions for this instrument. Morel follows Marais stylistically, but he addresses his music specifically to amateurs, which is why most of his pieces are less demanding. Our new edition follows the original musical texts very precisely and contains all the manifold performance signs of the original print of 1709. Edition Güntersberg

Suites 3–4

Also available: Suites 1–2