Pepusch, Johann Christoph (1667–1752): Chirping warblers

Product no.: EW980

17,50 EUR

  • weight 0,28 kg

product description

aria for mezzo soprano [d’–d’’], sopranino recorder, violin, viola (violin II), & b. c., from “Venus and Adonis”, edited as first edition by Peter Thalheimer. The masque after a text by Ovid was premiered in London in 1715. Pepusch wrote the sopranino recorder part for the famous flageolet and violin player John Banister. Series Recorders Library

„Beide Stücke sind wahre Kleinodien und mögen allen ans Herz gelegt sein, die auf der Suche nach Repertoire in diesen gemischt vokal-instrumentalen Genres sind. Wie immer bei Thalheimer sind beide Ausgaben editorisch mustergültig erstellt!“ TIBIA, 02/2016

„Here are three delightful Baroque arias (Conti, Pepusch: Chirping Warblers, Scarlatti: Quell' esser...) with charming sopranino obbligati, with pleasant and not difficult voice parts. You can play with or without the string parts by assigning some of them to the continuo or even, in two cases, other recorders! As usual with Walhall editions, the score and parts are beautifully presented.“ AMERICAN RECORDER, Summer 2017