Philidor, Pierre Danican (1681–1731): Two Suites from op. 1  

Product no.: G12.044

24,00 EUR
incl. 7 % VAT

  • weight 0,28 kg

product description

for 2 alto recorders and basso continuo, edited by Ulrich Thieme. Danican family of musicians and composers. Probably originally from Scotland (Duncan), the family had been awarded the name of Philidor by Louis XIII in 1620. The sequence of the four movements in each of the suites is unusual and appealing, the 2nd suite, for example, starting with an Air en Fugue, followed by an Air en Suitte and a Rigodon, and ending in a charming, somewhat longer Passacaille. The 4th suite begins with a Symphonie, followed by a Bouréeand a Muzette. It finishes with an elaborate fugue bearing the somewhat cryptic title Fugue Dacapella. Girolamo