Bingham, George (fl.1702–1705): English Airs – Volume III

Product no.: G12.047

19,00 EUR

  • weight 0,28 kg

product description

for 1 alto recorder (volume I: 2 alto recorders) and basso continuo, edited by Franz Müller-Busch. Between 1702 and 1705, George Bingham compiled four volumes of "Airs Anglois", which were published by Roger in Amsterdam. This collection of dance movements combined into suites, complemented by chaconnes, grounds and two sonatas, was a valuable source of original music for recorders for all recorder players at the time of its publication, and has remained so until the present day. The collection contains compositions by Bingham himself, Finger, Purcell, Paisible, Williams, the famous Sonata in G major by Andrew Parcham and many more. Bingham’s „English Airs“ are now available from Girolamo as a convenient complete edition, with easily playable realization of the figured bass. Some 200 typographic errors present in the source were eliminated. The movements are suitable for moderately advanced students as well as more experienced amateur players and professional musicians. Girolamo

Volume III

Also available:

Volume I
Volume II
Volume IV