Demachy (17th century): Pieces de Violle

Product no.: G400

27,80 EUR
incl. 7 % VAT

  • weight 0,28 kg

product description

Eight Suites for viola da gamba solo, edited as critical edition by Franziska Finckh. In contrast to Marais, Demachy was of the opinion that all music could be represented by distinct chordal playing on the viola da gamba alone. For this reason, he was also an advocate of French lute tablature, in which his last four suites are notated. Our edition also includes a translation of the very comprehensive original preface, in which Demachy defends his passion for tablature and explains his ornaments, which are also reproduced very accurately in our printing, in detail by means of a table. Edition Güntersberg