Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685 – 1750): Six Suites BWV 1007–12

Product no.: EW1188

39,80 EUR
incl. 7 % VAT

  • weight 1,1 kg

product description

critical edition in 3 volumes by Jonas Seeberg. The main aim of this, the most comprehensive source-critical edition to date, is to provide a new view of the articulation text. The non-judgmental inclusion of all sources in a comparative analysis led to the reconstruction of a high number of authentic articulation structures. Previous editorial traditions included smoothing and additions to the articulation text, an aesthetic that traces back to the Age of Sensitivity. However, the thorough analysis of the sources makes recognizable older rhetorical princples of affect and the drama of music as speech. It has been possible to prove the significance of a hitherto overlooked source and to differentiate previous assumptions about other sources. Two performance scores present for the first time the reconstructions of two early manuscripts from Bach's library. Also included is a scholarly score that omits any additions and documents reconstruction gaps. The format, based on baroque manuscripts, allows for the first time a clear presentation of all movements without turnarounds or fold-out pages. In addition, the scholarly accompanying publication ("Die sechs Suiten für Violoncello solo von Johann Sebastian Bach – eine Rekonstruktion der Artikulationsgefüge dreier Werkfassungen und deren Entwicklung", 162 pp.) is provided online (see below). This complete package at a low introductory price is the most comprehensive editorial presentation of the suites to date. The new gold standard, indispensable for connoisseurs.


"Particularly noteworthy is the new text-critical approach, which views the two main layers of the transmission separately, that is to say, does not blend them, mixing together the supposedly best articulations in each case, but rather presents the results separately on the one hand, and on the other hand conflates them in the third book in such a way that the respective layer affiliation of the articulation signs remains recognizable.

In my opinion, one can say without exaggeration that this edition represents the ideal basis for an in-depth interpretational occupation with Bach’s violoncello suites – an edition that does not impose its will on the player, but rather supplies him/her with everything that pertains to him/her as interpreter, and in doing so provides much food for thought and inspiration to try out alternative solutions."

Prof. Dr Klaus Hofmann
(1981-2006 Director of the Johann Sebastian Bach Institute Göttingen)

"Does this edition offer new insights compared to previous editions? Definitely yes! In contrast to all previous editions, Seeberg attempts to reconstruct Bach's presumed original manuscripts on the basis of sources A and B in particular, whereby he attaches greater importance to the Kellner version than most other editors. Seeberg's approach is daring, but can be considered successful, as it is based on musicological meticulousness, intensive study of the manuscripts and early prints as well as numerous cross-references to other historical sources. The two playing scores and the critical score offer texts of the cello suites that have never been available before. Despite the extensive theoretical "apparatus" accompanying this edition, the player feels free and inspired. A formidable publication!" DAS ORCHESTER 2/2024

„Die in dieser Ausgabe so eindrucks- und bedeutungsvoll herausgestellte Herangehensweise an die sehr unterschiedlichen Quellen ist einerseits sehr verdienstvoll. Andererseits entspricht sie für mich eher einem wissenschaftlichen Denken seit dem 20 Jahrhundert, das zunehmend Normen kategorisiert und eine lebendige Anschauung und Empfindungsfähigkeit von körperlichen, sinnlichen und seelisch-geistigen Kategorien vernachlässigt.“ ESTA-NACHRICHTEN, 03/2024


The accompanying scholarly publication (german language), can be found below for free download or here as a print edition.


 Errata (0.07 MB)